Imitation of Petrarch (poem)

How graceful thy step yet elusive all the same?

 

Such radiance dethrones all else in my sight,

 

How enamoured I become with the sound of thy name?

 

A day’s darkness obscured by a face so bright.

 

In solitude does my longing greatly ferment,

 

for time is precious little on earth,

 

simply in sympathy cracks the hourglass by daily increment,

 

all is manifest before me in the open hearth.

 

Yet this mere kindling is subject to my hand,

 

with wood, coal and poker in my possession,

 

While over the heart’s holy affections have I no command.

 

I ask thee maiden before I make too bold a profession,

 

to spend with me what’s left of the pouring sand,

 

I pray these words hold as a mutual confession.

 

Leave a Reply

